top of page

Face Charts

Face charts are a great way to show off your work to people and potential customers/clients. Its not as good as applying the makeup to their face. But the customer/client can visually see the image and imagine themselves with the makeup on. It's a great way to also show potential employers of your work and that you are keen, and also talented to do makeup. Face Charts can be Avant Garde and bold, to simple and elegant.

It does take a long time to produce a good face chart. Alot of effert goes into them. My average time for a face chart is around 1-4 hours. That is more time spent on one face chart than a clients face most times. But it is well worth the time in the long run, when you have so many ideas running through your mind, and need to put them down somewhere, so you don't forget. Also they are amazing tools to use in creating a photo shoot, giving the photographer something to use and go off of, to even inspire them, to get the best shots for you as a makeup artist.

This face chart for example, took me 3 hour to complete. From laying it out in pencil, to then filling it in with makeup and setting the makeup down with a fixative spray.

I do use real makeup for my face charts. But I also use other techniques and methods to get them looking like this. I use Sharpies for eyelashes and liner, I use pencils to map out what im doing to be doing first, and also drawing in the eyebrows. I also use watercolour pencils to do the pupils in the eyes. Unfortunitly makeup face charts can be quite difficult to do and also get the hang of, as it does take alot more time and blending of colours than the average person may think. But practice does make perfect in this case, as if you go through the images on my website here, you will see an evolution of time, in my face charts. I do believe mine have gotten better over the past few months, since I have been really focusing on improving my skills.

If you would like to know anymore, please feel free to comment or go to my facebook page and ask me a question. I would be happy to answer you. Thanks for reading this post and have a good day or night where ever you may be.

Featured Posts
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page